214th Session: Lecture Programme

Title Speaker Date
To frack or not to frack should not be the question: the ethics of energy supply in the 21st century Prof Zoe Shipton

Professor of Geological Engineering, University of Strathclyde
7st Oct 2015
James Watt’s heat engine: Energy transitions past, present and future
Prof Colin McInnes

James Watt Professor of Engineering Science, University of Glasgow
21st Oct 2015
Unlocking Potential, Embracing Ambition 2014-2024. How can the arts, screen and creative industries contribute to prosperity, wellbeing and fairness. Ms Janet Archer

Chief Executive, Creative Scotland
4th Nov 2015
 Happiness Sir Kenneth Calman

Former Chief Medical Officer for Scotland and Chancellor , University of Glasgow
18th Nov 2015
 Philosophy and the Good Life Professor Angela Hobbs

Professor of Public understanding of Philosophy, University of Shefield
2nd Dec 2015
Iran and the British Question
Professor  Ali Ansari

Professor of Modern History, St Andrews University
16th Dec 2015
Extreme drug discovery: finding new medicines from extreme environments Professor Marcel Jaspars

Professor of Organic Chemistry, University of Aberdeen
6th Jan 2016
 Partnership – succeeding together Mr Gordon Dewar

Chief Executive, Edinburgh Airport
20th Jan 2016
The science of laughter
Professor Sophie Scott

Deputy Director of the Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience, University College London
3rd Feb 2016
 Climate Change Professor Joanna Haigh

Co-Director, Grantham Institute for Climate Change & Environment, Imperial College London
17th Feb 2016
Design thinking in the 21st Century Professor Tom Inns

Director, Glasgow School of Art
2nd Mar 2016
 Members’ Night  John Barker

Through the Webbit Hole: a guide to royalphil.org

Mary Fraser

Controversies over the Great War Separation Allowance: the views of the Police

Maria Fyfe

Mary Barbour: why is her name coming to light only now?
16th Mar 2016
Shedding light on biological time: a new understanding of the eye
Professor Russell Foster

Professor of Circadian Neuroscience and Head of Department of Ophthalmology, University of Oxford
30th March 2016